Instrumental Music

2022-23 Michael Compton Instructor Instrumental Music

2021 Satin & Brass Jazz Band


​Tacy Andrews and Ashlyn Hall-alto Saxophone, Emily Waline and Nicole Gensley-Tenor Saxophone, Melana Blomme-Bari Saxophone, Courtney Rhinehart, Alex Gensley, Ben Thys-Trumpet, Addy Shaull, Heather Schafbuch-Trombone, Nolan Pirkl-Piano, Bobby Scoville-Bass, Austin Van Hamme and Raelene Hawkins-Drum & percussion.

2020 Holiday Concert Photo below.

2020 Marching Band

Sr. Band Spring Concert 2020 1

2018 Honor Band Participants

HS-Sydney Demmel, Jolynne Schnebbe, Makenna Weiermann, Melana Blomme, Colton Boyer, Tacy Andrews, Danny Andrews, Emily Waline, Nadia Schafbuch

JH-Janessa Blomme, Heather Schafbuch, Ashlyn Hall, Nolan Pirkl, Kyrah Sissel, Addy Shaull, Clayton Essick, Jack Butler


Meistersinger Honor Band-Tacy Andrews


SEIBA ELEMENTARY HONOR BAND- Adalynn Shaull, Anna Baetsle, Annie Schabacker

5 SEASONS HONOR BAND- Melana Blomme, Colton Boyer, Janessa Blomme, Haven Nunnelley, Nolan Pirkl

SOLO CONTESTS- Division 1+ Rating- Melana Blomme, Colton Boyer, Courtney Rhinehart, Anna Baetsle, Janessa Blomme, Cadence Cheney, Haven Nunnelley, Nolan Pirkl, Annie Schabacker. Division I Rating-Colton Boyer, Ashlyn Hall, Courtney Rhinehart, Kyrah Sissel, Emily Waline, Hailey Jack, Nolan Pirkl, Ema Roberts, Adalynn Shaull, Brody Sternhagen. Division II Rating-Colton Boyer, Clayton Essick, Dylan Schafbuch, Hunter Bazyn, Lizzy Grier, Ethan Licht, Peyton Roth, Heather Schafbuch, Devon Weisskopf.

Junior High 5 Seasons Honor Band 2018-Melana Blomme, Colton Boyer, Janessa Blomme, Haven Nunnelley, Nolan Pirkl

SEIBA Elementary Honor Band 2018-Adalynn Shaull, Anna Baetsle, Annie Schabacker

Contest Results- 2017-

Congratulations to those elementary and junior high band students that participated in the solo contest in Grinnell on Feb. 11. HLV band students were involved in 24 solos and received 19 Division I (superior) awards and 5 Division II (excellent) awards. Melana Blomme also received the award for Best in Center meaning her solo was the best the judge heard all day. Congratulations musicians!


Melana Blomme performed in the Southeast Iowa Band Masters Honor Band on Saturday, January 21st in the new Voxman School of Music at the University of Iowa. Melana was chosen for this honor through an audition held on January 7th in Fairfield. The majority of students making it through the audition were from the large metropolitan schools in the Iowa City and Quad Cities areas. She was the only class A student involved in the honor band. The band performed under 2 directors Mr. David Newport, the retired director for Grinnell Community High School and Robert Sheldon, music educator and composer. The band under the direction of Mr. Sheldon performed Hawkeye Overture which was specially written for this band and it was the world premiere for this selection.Congratulations to Melana for this honor.